Burlington City Arts

Stay Home / Stay Safe [Executive Order 01-20]

July 22, 2020 - October 10, 2020

Open Wednesday-Saturday, 12-5 pm

Stay Home / Stay Safe features 30 Vermont artists with new work created in response to the theme of ‘home’ and Vermont Governor Phil Scott’s Executive Order 01-20 | Amendment 6 [Stay Home/Stay Safe] emergency declaration. As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the public mandate to remain at home, we are compelled to reassess our relationship to this essential place in an increasingly complex and uncertain world.

Beyond a physical building, a house or home embodies a state of being – one of comfort, security, and normalcy. While some have discovered a newfound sense of solace, others dwell in disquiet or boredom. And for far too many, there are those without a place to shelter, or those who are isolated in perilous circumstances. Stay Home / Stay Safe explores our evolving and complicated relationship to home in response to the COVID-19 pandemic through a diverse spectrum of media and aesthetic approaches.

Featured Artists: Annelein Beukenkamp, Brendan Bush, Sarah Carlson-McNally, Cat Cutillo, Kylie Dally, Frank DeAngelis, Lorna Rose Dielentheis, Phillip Dolson, Kevin Donegan, Aleyna Feinberg, Barbee Hauzinger, Ella Whittemore Hill, Martha Hull, Aleda Kirstein, Caitlin La Dolce, Noah Lagle, Nikki Laxar, Sarah Letteney, Misoo, Zoe Nicholson, Scottie Raymond, Ken Russack, Seeko the Kid, Ross Sheehan, Sam Simon, Susan Smereka, Dakin Fuller Vasquez (f.k.a. Kara Torres), isaac wasuck, Corrine Yonce, and Johanne Durocher Yordan.

BCA Exhibitions are funded in part by a grant from The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual ArtsNational Endowment for the Arts, and Vermont Arts Council.

Please review our full list of guidelines and protocols for protecting our community while visiting the BCA Center.



Take a 360-degree tour of the exhibition.



Listen to the artists discuss their personal perspective creating the work included in Stay Home / Stay Safe [Executive Order 01-20].

Check back as more descriptions become available and are posted.

If viewing on a mobile device, click 'Listen in Browser' 


Aleyna Feinberg, Kitchen, 2020


Nikki Laxar, Climbing Up the Walls, 2020


Susan Smerka, Surface Diffusion Flux, 2020

Ross Sheehan, Peripheries, 2020 

Corrine Yonce,, 2020

Cat Cutillo, The Backyard Superhero, 2020

Caitlin La Dolce, The Sinister Desire to Fall Asleep (Seven Sleepers), 2020

Brendan Bush, ‘I Know What the Problem Is, Of Course', 2020

Kevin Donegan, Stay Home, Stay Safe?, 2020

Martha Hull, Splendid Isolation, 2020


Johanne Durocher Yordan, Resolving Chaos, 2020


Lorna Rose Dielentheis, Witch Window, 2020


Frank DeAngelis, HAS IT COME TO THIS, 2020


Sarah Letteney, Double Vision, 2020


Annelein Beukenkamp, Spring Came Regardless, 2020



Above image: Lorna Rose Dielentheis, Witch Window, 2020