Burlington City Arts

The Winged Monkeys

Union Station, 1 Main Street
1975, steel
The Winged Monkeys of the clock tower were originally made in 1975 for a waterbed store in downtown Burlington called “The Emerald City of Oz.” This piece actually boasts a fascinating story of theft. After the waterbed store moved to the Shelburne Road, the male monkey was stolen from the roof and disappeared. Months later, the thieves were nabbed in a stakeout and the piece was returned to the store owner. In 1997, the waterbed store closed and the monkeys were taken to the roof of One Main Street.



Waterfront Park parking lot
1998, oxidized copper



Waterfront Park
1991, granite


Sculpture In The Community

Battery Park Extension, Battery Street
1974, marble
Paul Aschenbach didn’t believe in gallery culture and focused his attention on making work solely for outdoor sites, and ultimately, collaborative pieces. This piece was created in collaboration with Bill Ford, Terry Dinnan, John Watenberg, Bob Vesely, and several of Aschenbach’s UVM students. The design consists of five groupings of marble intentionally placed as a way to view the sunset through the crevices carved in the stones.

Photo by Michael Weizenegger


General William Wells

Battery Park, Battery Street
1914, bronze
This statue is a replica of an original erected in 1913 on the Gettysburg battlefield in Pennsylvania. In 1860, Wells joined the army and helped raise Company C, Vermont’s first regiment. He went on to become a state senator for Chittenden County. The statue is situated on a historic site that came under fire during the War of 1812 and is very near the site where Vermont soldiers gathered before leaving to fight in the Civil War.

Photo by Michael Weizenegge


Unfailing Dialogue

Waterfront Park
2009, stainless steel
The two intertwined stems of this sculpture symbolize the strong bonds between Québec and Vermont.  Leaves and letters represent complementarity and dialogue. 
This sculpture was offered by Québec to the State of Vermont on the occasion of the 400th anniversary of Samuel de Champlain's arrival to the lake that now bears his name.
It was unveiled on July 10, 2009

photo by Steve Mease


General George Stannard

Lakeview Cemetery, North Avenue
1891, bronze
This statue was erected over General Stannard’s grave site and commemorates the life of this Civil War hero. The General Stannard House stands at the northwest corner of Pearl and George Streets. Another replica of this piece can be found at Gettysburg.

Photo by Michael Weizenegger