BCA Center, Church Street

For over 30 years, Burlington City Arts (BCA) has helped cement Burlington, Vermont’s reputation as one of America’s most livable cities for the arts. Our physical locations include the BCA Center, a three-level, year-round exhibition space, as well as BCA Studios, which hosts art classes, camps, and open studio hours in our state-of-the-art facilities. BCA also produces city-wide festivals, events, concerts, films, artist markets, and more. Funded by a unique public/private partnership in which private charitable contributions leverage City funding, BCA is dedicated to supporting artists while expanding access to arts-based education and experiences. BCA provides a national model for centering the arts in community impact, on sectors as varied as education, the environment, civic dialogue, and the economy.

Image
mission

Our Mission

Burlington City Arts nurtures a dynamic environment through the arts, making quality experiences and opportunities accessible to a broad audience.

We do this by:

Supporting and promoting Vermont artists and advancing the creation of new work

Offering a wide spectrum of arts education and engagement opportunities

Presenting exhibitions and events that place Burlington in a global context, promote critical dialogue and encourage local participation

Serving as the City of Burlington’s cultural planner by making the arts integral to the area's economic and civic development, urban design, and livability.

Image
board

Our Advisory Board

BCA Advisory Board Member applications are accepted on a rolling basis. The board is currently interested in filling positions with applicants who bring diversity to the board and applicants with CPA experience. Applications are typically reviewed in April and September.

Apply to join the BCA Advisory Board

Meeting Schedule, Agendas, and Minutes

 

BCA Voting Advisory Board Members:
Rachel Kahn-Fogel
Taylor Gamache
Billi Gosh
Jeffrey Harkness
Lisa Lillibridge
Laura McDonough
Beth Montuori Rowles
Bryan Parmelee  
Barbara Perry
Jacqueline Posley
Jackie Reno
Milton Rosa-Ortiz
Lori Rowe, President
Dana vanderHeyden
Jon Weisbecker
Mildred Beltre Martinez
Patrick Shank
 

Non-Voting Board Emeritus:
Penrose Jackson
Judy Kelly
Sherrill Musty
Pat Robins
Christine Stiller

Current Board Members (Expand/Collapse)

Our Staff

Administration

Doreen Kraft Executive Director dkraft@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.7156
Sara Katz Assistant Director skatz@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.5356
Joyce Cellars Development Director jcellars@burlingtoncityarts.org  
John Flanagan Communications Director jflanagan@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.5355
Ted Olson Design Director tolson@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.540.1788
Meara McGinniss Development Coordinator mmcginniss@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.5816
Elena Rosen Marketing and Communications Coordinator erosen@burlingtoncityarts.org  


Education

Melissa Steady Education Director msteady@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.7524
Kiersten Williams Community Programs Coordinator kwilliams@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.7157
Chris Vaughn Clay Studio Manager cvaughn@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.860.7474
Rebecca Schwarz Art from the Heart Coordinator rschwarz@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.9163
Lauren Genta Youth and Family Programs Coordinator lgenta@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.7161


Gallery and Exhibitions

Heather Ferrell Curator and Director of Exhibitions hferrell@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.5392
Colin Storrs Gallery Coordinator and Curatorial Assistant cstorrs@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.7165
Jacquelyn O'Brien Customer Service Assistant jobrien@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.7165
Kate Ashman Public Arts Coordinator kashman@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.7296
Melinda Johns Gallery Education and Programs Coordinator mjohns@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.865.7551

 

Festivals and Events

Zach Williamson Festival and Events Director zwilliamson@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.846.2523
Graham Peterson Festival and Events Coordinator gpeterson@burlingtoncityarts.org 802.540.8147